Image

Reviews

We review things and tell you what’s good.

Say Hello to this Little Book: “Stay At Home Scarface: A Coloring and Activity Book for Gangster Parents”
10 months ago

Say Hello to this Little Book: “Stay At Home Scarface: A Coloring and Activity Book for Gangster Parents”

Adult coloring books are hot these days, but this one by Kenny Keil is more than a book where you’re fine-point coloring complicated line drawings of majestic hawks. This is …
Read More

#ParentLikeADad – Care.com
10 months ago

#ParentLikeADad – Care.com

Dads are EVERYWHERE. OMG! That’s right, we are. And we’re proud! We’re proud to be a significant part in our children’s lives and we want to show it. How can YOU show it? By sharing your own stories with the hashtag, #ParentLikeADad.
Read More

Ziro Robotics Kit
10 months ago

Ziro Robotics Kit

Who wants robots? Whenever I get the opportunity to ask that question, which is never, it’s always a resounding “what kind of robot?”. Just kidding, I’ve never asked that question.
Read More

Book: Dad’s Book of Awesome Science Experiments by Mike Adamick
2 years ago

Book: Dad’s Book of Awesome Science Experiments by Mike Adamick

There’s no shortage of science project books for parents and kids. Anyone can tell you how to make your own rock candy crystals or rockets powered by Mentos and Coke. But – call it nepotism or playing 8Bit favorites – I really like Mike Adamick’s Dad’s Book of Awesome Science Experiments. It was released almost one year ago – ICYMI – and answers all the tough science questions kids tend to ask.

Mike had sent me his first book, Dad’s Book of Awesome Projects, which had a bunch of sweet do-it-yourself projects, like superhero capes and those books where you open up the cover and there’s a hidey-box inside. It also had a handful of daunting projects, like building rope swings, teeter-totters and old fashioned fruit crate scooters. Fo’ real. You can see that Mike loves DIY more than anyone, and even talked about my nerdy perler projects in an article on Parade. No shame here. My favorites game is fierce.

This book, Dad’s Book of Awesome Science Experiments, will teach you rad stuff – even how to make Mentos/Coke rockets and candy crystals. My favorite thing about the book is that it answers the perennial kid question, “why?

Read More

The Kiccup Protects You From Getting Baby-Kicked in the Junk
3 years ago

The Kiccup Protects You From Getting Baby-Kicked in the Junk

By  •  Reviews

Any dad that’s worn a baby carrier knows that there’s a sweet, bundle of joy in front of you that you’ve got to protect. And that is, of course, your testicles.

Look, you’re a good dad and you’ve got a handle on that fatherhood thing. But getting kicked in the junk is not fun. That’s why the Kiccup exists – it’s a shield that hangs below your baby carrier and protects you from wild baby-kicks.

Every warrior needs armor, and gentlemen, if you’re not protecting your meatballs, then what in the world are we doing here? Amirite or amirite?

Read More

Book: Because I’m Your Dad by Ahmet Zappa
4 years ago

Book: Because I’m Your Dad by Ahmet Zappa

We don’t often talk about kid’s books here since we don’t want to have to talk about all of them. But when we do, it’s something wonderful to us.

Ahmet Zappa’s Because I’m Your Dad is so simple that it’s that kind of wonderful. A kid’s book about a dad, written by a dad? We’re sold.

Read More

Book: The Guide to Baby Sleep Positions by Andy Herald & Charlie Capen
4 years ago

Book: The Guide to Baby Sleep Positions by Andy Herald & Charlie Capen

Child-humor cartographers and heads behind How To Be A Dad, Andy Herald and Charlie Capen, made co-sleeping official with their book The Guide to Baby Sleep Positions: Survival Tips for Co-Sleeping Parents. In it, we get 30 diagrams of possible nighttime positions you’ll find your baby in.

If you’re not already familiar with How To Be a Dad, just head on over there and check it out. It’s okay, we’ll wait.

Read More

Book: Dad’s Book of Awesome Projects by Mike Adamick
4 years ago

Book: Dad’s Book of Awesome Projects by Mike Adamick

When we last checked in with dad blogger Mike Adamick, he was making a crab cam with his daughter. That wasn’t the only trick up Adamick’s sleeve, and the proof is his new book, Dad’s Book of Awesome Projects: From Stilts and Superhero Capes to Tinker Boxes and Seesaws, 25+ Fun Do-It-Yourself Projects for Families.

Try to say that three times fast. Preferably while making your child a duct tape crayon wallet.

Read More