Image

Gear

8BDIY Dad: Framed Video Game Pictures
5 years ago

8BDIY Dad: Framed Video Game Pictures

By  •  DIY, Feature

8BDIY Dad Andy

A dad living in Charlotte, North Carolina just scored major points with both his kid and the video game community after a simple DIY project that’s sure to please any video game-loving kid.

Andy, who spent a good part of the last 10 years in the event production and signage business, took his skills (and massive printer) and made canvas prints of video game characters to put on his 11 year old son’s wall. Awesome!

Andy first shared his DIY project with Reddit, where commenters were so wowed, that some actually offered to pay for Andy to make a reprint/reframe for them. We had to get a hold of Andy and have him tell us a little more about what he did and why he did it.

Read More

8BDIY Dad: Printer Box Train
5 years ago

8BDIY Dad: Printer Box Train

By  •  DIY, Gear

baby train

Babies like trains. Babies like moving lights and colors. You just bought a printer to print out pictures of your baby. WAT DO?!

Well, if you’re this Swedish Reddit user named Vekturbrektur, you turn your printer box into a train. We got a hold of Vekturbrektur – or Victor – and asked him a couple more questions about his train.

Read More

Review: Bear Grylls Survival and Pocket Tools
5 years ago

Review: Bear Grylls Survival and Pocket Tools

Gerber Bear Grylls Survival Tools

As summer creeps in and people plan their family camping, hunting and fishing trips, a dad’s got to assemble a Batman-like utility belt. Recently, knife wizards Gerber sent me a couple of their Bear Grylls line tools to
play with – the Survival Tool and Pocket Tool. These two tools are great for the camper, fisherman and hunter – but also really handy for weekend warriors and suburbanite dads alike.

Oh, and before you’re left wondering – this is the Gerber Legendary Blades company…not that baby food subdivision of Nestlé. We know: you’re a dad, you hear “Gerber” and all you think of is mashed peas.

So – if you are indeed the outdoorsy type, boy do these Gerber tools fit the job. But a guy like me that gets out only once a year for a fishing trip and spends most of the year as an indoorsy, tech-inclined dad still can get a whole lot of usage out of them.

Read More

Father’s Day Gift Idea: Turtle Beach Ear Force X32
5 years ago

Father’s Day Gift Idea: Turtle Beach Ear Force X32

Do Want! Turtle Beach Ear Force X32 Headset (XBox 360)

Ask a dad what he wants for Father’s Day, and he’ll tell you “oh, anything” or “nothing, I’m happy just spending time with you.” Lies. What that guy wants (and needs) is a Turtle Beach headset for his gaming pleasure. Specifically, the Turtle Beach Ear Force X32 (XBox 360) are a great gift for a gamer-dad. I mean, sure, you could just buy him a gift card to Best Buy (or Future Shop for our Canadian readers), but the dude’s just going to end up buying these for himself.

And if you’re a dad, stop playing coy and just tell your family that you want to ear-hump these headphones so bad that it’s effecting your kill-death ratio.

Now, before we get into it – Turtle Beach does indeed have many headsets – and in fact, many headsets above the X32 in quality. But if you’re looking for a good balance between price and power, the X32 is what you’re looking for.

Read More

Father’s Day Gift Idea: Olympus PEN E-PM1
5 years ago

Father’s Day Gift Idea: Olympus PEN E-PM1

Olympus E-PM1 Review

Is your dad still using his 5 year old point-and-shoot to take vacation pictures? Or has he abandoned it for his iPhone because it’s small enough to fit in his pocket? It’s time for you to pull your dad aside and tell him to father-up and get a camera that can record some serious family memories. If you’re looking for a camera that’s lightweight but not underpowered, check out the 12.3 megapixel Olympus PEN E-PM1.

With interchangeable lenses, a small form factor and beautiful image quality, the PEN E-PM1 is perfect for dads that aren’t looking to go headlong into professional-level dSLRs. With a price tag of $499, this camera may not be on your radar for a solo purchase, but if you’ve got a couple of siblings, it’s an awesome group gift. And if you’re the father we’ve been talking about and need an impressive camera for your own vacation pictures, this is it.

Many families have made the jump to dSLR cameras; the prices have come down on the entry-level models, and the “Micro Four Thirds” (MFT) class of cameras have driven body size down even more. As a result, you’re able to find really capable cameras at affordable prices.

Read More

8BDIY Dad: Custom Potty Training Step
6 years ago

8BDIY Dad: Custom Potty Training Step

By  •  DIY, Gear

Fernando's DIY Potty Training Steps

We put out a call for DIY-dads to send us pictures of projects they’ve done for their kids – and our first one came from Fernando, in Sacramento, California. Fernando ran into a common complaint while potty training his daughter Eva: almost all of the steps at the store are too high or too low, and since toilets are all different heights, it really takes a custom project to make for perfect potty practice. “I shopped for hours looking for a good step and there’s nothing really stable out there for the little ones, they all seemed to be designed for bigger kids,” Fernando told us in an e-mail.

Most of us just cave in and buy one of those little kid floor potties, then slosh toddler poop everywhere and stub our toes on it every night. Not Fernando.

Read More

Review: ‘OMG Pancakes!’ by Jim Belosic
6 years ago

Review: ‘OMG Pancakes!’ by Jim Belosic

Ask any typical father the kind of breakfast he enjoys cooking for his kids and pancakes will come up in the conversation. Let’s be honest – pancakes are awesome. First of all, they’re cake that you eat for breakfast. And actually, there’s no second point – they’re cake you eat for breakfast!

But most people make the same old blah pancakes for their kids – big circles, smaller circles. And if you really want to look like a hero in front of your kids, you make the old Mickey Mouse pancake – one big circle, two smaller circle ears. WTG, bro. Well, Jim Belosic’s got you beat. I mean, unless you’ve made The Golden Gate Bridge out of pancake, then maybe you’re on his level. Oh, you haven’t? Then shut your hole and read the review of his new book, “OMG Pancakes!”

Read More

Holy Crap Review! Old Spice Inadvertently Makes The World’s Best Bubble Bath
6 years ago

Holy Crap Review! Old Spice Inadvertently Makes The World’s Best Bubble Bath

You know those Bud Light “Real Men of Genius” ads you hear on the radio? Well, I can hear another one spinning up right now… “Reeeeaaaal Men of GeeeniusssssssssHere’s to you, Mr. Dad who forgot to pick up more bubble bath for the kids, and had to use his own new shower soap to pacify the kid’s demands for bubbles at bath time. Like Charles Goodyear who accidentally invented vulcanized rubber, or that other jack-wagon who invented silly putty, you single-handedly discovered the best possible use for Old Spice Hair-Body Wash 2-in-1 – making epic amounts of durable bubbles for your kids to play in.”

And that’s exactly what happened about a week ago when I ran out of bubble bath for the kids.

Now we’ve reviewed bubble bath products before, and recommended them merely on the lack of any alternative products out there. We are still right about making that call, because all baby bath and bubble products are crap. Trust me. I’ve tried them all. If you find one I haven’t tried, I defy you post the name of it here, and I will try it.

Or maybe I won’t, because Old Spice just unintentionally solved the problem of crappy bubble bath. Period.

Read More